Dave Behar ION Campus ION Network ION Sports ION Volleyball

ION SportsWire: Forty three named to USA Beach Volleyball Collegiate Team

ION COLORADO SPRINGS, CO. (July 14, 2020) – Twenty-nine women and 14 men have been named to the 2020 U.S. Beach Collegiate National Team.

The athletes represent a total of 30 colleges and universities from around the country.

Players were nominated to the team by their coaches and selected based on their collegiate rankings.

Training plans for the team are on hold while the country deals with the COVID-19 pandemic.

The head coach for the women’s team is 1996 Olympian and longtime beach volleyball high performance coach Barbra Fontana. She will be assisted by Hector Gutierrez, head coach of Texas Christian beach volleyball and Russell Brock, head coach of Louisiana State beach volleyball.

Head coach of the men’s teams is John Mayer, former U.S. National Team member and Loyola Marymount beach volleyball head coach. He will be assisted by two-time Olympian and 2008 gold medalist Riley Salmon, head men’s volleyball coach at the University of Jamestown.


Name (Height, College, Hometown)
Kelli Agnew (5-9, Louisiana State, Glendale, Ariz.)
Bella Bauman (6-0, Grand Canyon, Wheaton, Ill.)
Brooke Buchner (5-11, Cal, La Jolla, Calif.)
Payton Caffrey (6-0, Florida State, Chuluota, Fla.)
Alaina Chacon (5-9, Florida State, Crown Point, Ind.)
Claire Coppola – left in photo (6-1, Louisiana State, Scottsdale, Ariz.)
Teagan Defalco (5-8, Grand Canyon, Long Beach, Calif.)
Kyla Doig (6-0, Southern California, Redondo Beach, Calif.)
Hunter Domanski (5-10, Louisiana State, New Braunfels, Texas)
Charlie Ekstrom (6-1, Stanford, San Diego, Calif.)
Kylie Grandy (5-10, Southern Miss., Rolesville, N.C.) 
Haley Hallgren (6-1, Southern California, Southlake, Texas)
Hailey Harward (5-9, Southern California, Phoenix, Ariz.)
Taryn Kloth (6-4, Louisiana State, Sioux Falls, S.D.)
Iya Lindahl (5-8, Cal, San Diego, Calif.)
Lexi Mcleod (6-1, Cal State Northridge, Bakersfield, Calif.)
Mima Mirkovic (5-11, Cal, Irvine, Calif.)
Mari Molina (5-6, Long Beach State, Corte Madera, Calif.)
Sydney Moore (5-6, Louisiana State, Pickering, Ohio)
Audrey Nourse (5-11, Southern California, Newport Beach, Calif.)
Nicole Nourse (5-11, Southern California, Newport Beach, Calif.)
Kristen  Nuss – right in photo (5-6, Louisiana State, New Orleans, La.)
Carly Perales (5-9, Stetson, Round Rock, Texas)
Jordan Polo (5-11, Cal, Danville, Calif.)
Sara Putt (5-11, Florida State, Jupiter, Fla.)
Jacqueline Quade (6-2, UCLA, Fort Wayne, Ind.)
Ashlyn Rasnick-Pope (5-11, Louisiana State, Dallas, Texas)
Savvy Simo (5-10, UCLA, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.)
Lindsey Sparks (5-8, UCLA, Huntington Beach, Calif.)
Tyler Spriggs (6-1, Long Beach State, Los Angeles)
Jasmin Suarez (5-7, St. Mary’s College of California, Corona, Calif.)
Torrey Van Winden (6-3, Cal Poly SLO, Napa, Calif.)
Abby Van Winkle (6-2, UCLA, San Clemente, Calif.)
Sunny Villapando (5-9, Stanford, Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
Liz Waters-Leiga (5-11, Florida State, San Leandro, Calif.)
Maria Whalen (6-1, Cal Poly SLO, Wausau, Wis.)

Head Coach: Barbra Fontana
Assistant Coach: Hector Gutierrez
Assistant Coach: Russell Brock


Name (Height, College , Hometown)
Jonny Bowles (6-7, UC Irvine, Chandler, Ariz.)
Timothy Brewster (6-1, UCLA, Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
Inaki Bustamante (6-5, Lewis Univ., Redondo Beach, Calif.)
Caylor Cox (5-10, Univ. of Jamestown, Helena, Mont.)
Will Eiken (6-9, Lincoln Memorial Univ., Dayton, Ohio)
Johnny Ferraro (6-3, Saint Francis, New City, N.Y.)
Matt Gentry (6-7, Lincoln Memorial Univ., Bowling Green, Ky.)    
Sammy Gibson (6-0, University of Tampa, Long Beach, N.Y.)
Mihajlo Gomez (6-5, Loras College, Gurnee, Ill.)
Carlos Jiminez (6-0, Lewis Univ., Miami Beach, Fla.)
Logan Kerley (6-3, Lincoln Memorial Univ., Penn Valley, Calif.)
Chris Ludwig (6-2, Webber Univ., Fort Pierce, Fla.)
Jorge Pando (6-0, Rockford Univ., San Juan, Puerto Rico) 
Vaughn Ramsey (6-6, Vassar, Greenwood Village, Colo.)
Charlie Siragusa (6-8, UC San Diego, Rochester, N.Y.)
Dawson Walker (6-6, Lincoln Memorial Univ., Englewood, Ohio)

Head Coach: John Mayer 
Assistant Coach: Riley Salmon

ION Sports

ION SportsWire: 2020 Vans US Open of Surfing Canceled


Continued health concerns and current guidelines surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Vans US Open of Surfing presented by Swatch has been canceled and will return in 2021.The decision to cancel was made after careful consideration, with the health and safety of fans, athletes, staff, and the local community remaining the top priority.

Event organizers look forward to providing the best experience possible for attendees at the famed southside of the Huntington Beach Pier in 2021, which will once again, bring together an international board sports community for the largest professional action sports competition and festival in the world.

Carly Gomez, VP of Marketing, Americas at Vans, said: “Our mission is to provide an authentic action sports community experience at the Vans US Open of Surfing. It’s a unique environment that showcases our incredible network of athletes, artists, and brand collaborators who all represent creativity. We look forward to bringing the evolution of this event to life in 2021 when the event returns to Huntington Beach.”

Jennifer Lau, Vice President of Action Sports at IMG, said: “The Vans US Open of Surfing has always been about bringing people together in a healthy, fun and interactive environment, and given the size and scale of the event, we can’t see a way to do that this year without sacrificing the very thing that makes it so special. This event would not be the same without the amazing surf, skate, and BMX fans who come out to connect and have fun year after year. We can’t wait to return in 2021 and will be working harder than ever to stage another world-class event at Huntington Beach next summer.”

The Vans US Open of Surfing is sanctioned and operated by the World Surf League under license from IMG.